Making a difference for all mankind by changing lives one person at a time!

Destined For Greatness


760-798-0307
destined4greatnessmi@yahoo.com

What have we done?

11/12/2016 17:18

What have we done?

As the smoke is clearing after the 2016 election I am asking this question to myself. I look at everything that led up to this, and what is going on right now as a result. I have observed many distraught people as well as angry people. I see celebration on one side, and heart break on the other. I see people using this opportunity to express racial hatred, and others exercising their right to protest. I see a country divided and a world trying to understand our logic. I see people fed up with the same old system, and others happy that the system worked. I see outrage and proof of voter suppression, and others not moved by it at all. I see a democratic way of living being abused while others think nothing is wrong with the democratic process. I observed bullying tactics by alt right people as well as law enforcement in certain areas of the country, and not others. I saw for the first time in history a foreign country interfere with The US’s election. For the first time since I could truly understand politics people referring to this country as the Un-united States of America. For the first time I am observing  a generation of young, excited, vocal people done with the same old business as usual. I am watching people try to justify why they did, did not, and who they voted for with extreme passion.  I am watching a country divided and asking myself what have we done?

 

            What have we said to our country when racism and bigotry qualifies someone to lead our country? What message have we sent to many Muslim Americans when we say that all of them are perceived to be terrorists? What message are we sending when we allow the disrespect of veterans in this country by our now president elect? What have we done I ask again?

            What message are we sending when we have for years told other countries how they are supposed to live, but have never dealt with systemic issues of race in our own country which has reared its head publicly once again? What message are we sending the world who looks at us for leadership that we are ok with the president elect being a divisive leader?  What have we done when we have told thousands of people of color that their lives don’t matter even more now? What are we saying when we justify erratic behavior from a person who is one of the most important people in the world now? How can we justify white supremacy by followers of this president elect and he never disavows them?

            What have we done when we have allowed hate, discord, lies, and blatant evil to be characteristics of our next president? What have we done when we have allowed our standards to become so low that we accept anything after 8 years of a black president? What does it say about our country as a whole when people are now being accosted nationally by white racist?   What have we done?

            I have asked this question for months now and after the election I was convinced of who we were. There were no surprises to me after Tuesday November 8th. I am very aware of who we are as a country and what we have done because I paid very close attention to everything leading up to it. I am completely disgusted by a system that has allowed us to get to this point. I am ashamed of us as a whole because we still don’t get who we are as a country god has blessed. I am fearful that violence will take over as people are sick of being not heard, killed because of what they look like, and attacked as well.  I am embarrassed that men and women of faith are so quiet in the season, and prior to. I as a believer trust that God is in control, but don’t trust many of my fellow Americans overall. I am disappointed that a conversation can’t happen about truth, choices, and differences. I am disgusted by a country full of people who don’t do their own research, and allow media to make informed decisions for them. What have we done when we have allowed this generation to not even care about voting and the process at all? What have we done when the voter’s rights act of 1964 has been completely gutted by the Supreme Court in 2013 and no media outrage take place? What message have we sent to many cities in the country when voter suppression took over after the gutting out of the voters rights act? What progress have we made when we are reflective of the 1960’s in attitude, speech, and actions today in 2016? What in the world have we done America?

            So, as I stand in complete astonishment of who our country has elected overall I realize that God gave this country what we asked for. So we will now reap the benefits of what we asked for. I am so glad that my faith is routed in God and not any system of this world. My job is to now help others to realize this as well. I will not encourage anyone to be routed in the church as that institution is not effected anymore. I will not encourage people to run to a particular religion as that is also non effective. My goal is to get people to know God for themselves if they are interested.  I also am not interested in beating people of with my message. Honey is a lot sweeter to the taste then vinegar.

            So, if I were to leave you with any thoughts it would be to consider everything that has happened over the past week and see it for what it really is. Don’t allow fear to lead you in any way. Be wise and alert as it is very necessary to do so as citizens of this country. Our president elect has told us what he is going to do for 19 months now and we should believe him. He has spoken his truth for that long as well, and the bible says very clearly that out of the abundance of a man’s heart his mouth will speak. Don’t be under any illusion that this man will not do exactly what he has promised on the campaign trail. This does not mean that I am fearful or anxious by any means as I know where I stand in my faith. However, I am very wise of both satan and man’s tactics. When people show you who they are believe them! We have been shown exactly who this man is so you would be foolish to not believe him. I no longer ask what have we done, but how do we respond to what has been done?   

As always have a great day.

 

D