Making a difference for all mankind by changing lives one person at a time!

Destined For Greatness


760-798-0307
destined4greatnessmi@yahoo.com

What accountability means!

05/16/2016 23:42

Accountability

What does this word mean? How does this work? Is it really necessary?

 

This word for me is really interesting as I have seen it used to manipulate people, rule over people in a perverse way and simply just abused over all. Today in 2016 I find myself being accountable to several people and have figured out that this is one of the safest ways to operate in life. I have seen the word used in the church to destroy many people over the years. So much that they left the church and are now very cynical if the word church even comes up. I was also one who was used by people in the church and became very cynical myself, angry, and bitter towards what I call predators in the church.  As a result I now am very skeptical when it comes to religious people especially those who appear to be overly religious.  I said this to say that it took many years for me to realize that accountability is not a bad thing when it is done in the right way. I have also used my own experiences to help those who have come across my path in the past and even up to date.  I make sure that I do not abuse my authority in any way but I am also very real with them as this is what holding someone accountable for their actions, attitudes, and behaviors should do.  

 

We can look at many aspects of our lives today and see where had accountability been used we would not be where we are today. Look at all the predatory lending practices of the 2000’s that led to many of us losing our homes to people who were not being held accountable.  The Watergate scandal of the early 70’s, The weapons of mass destruction under Bush that were never found and out comes the patriot act which have unwarranted intrusions’ in our lives today. This is just to name a few of many more I could name.

 

Accountability in many ways is so good for us to have. In our lives as men or women, business, as a believer, as a friend, or family member, and so much more. No man is an island and we should always be at a place where we have someone by our side to hold us accountable. We need someone to help us say no when we are thinking yes. We need people in our lives to bounce things across when we are trying to make very important decisions. We also need people in our lives to help us stay balanced, moral, honest, and to sustain our integrity for those who want these things in life as I have found some don’t.  So for those of you reading who may be like me and many I know who have observed this word being used in a very abusive way please know that if used correctly it can save your life.

 

If I could encourage anyone reading with a few thoughts it would be to remember that when left alone to make very vital decisions  it is always better to have more than one person there to help you through that decision making process. When walking through life with goals and plans it is always best to have someone like minded around you to keep you balanced and to bounce things off of. Finally as a person who has their faith it is additionally good to have someone there to keep you on that path that is very narrow but definitely attainable with the help of a brother or sister who is also traveling that same road.

 

As always remain focused and have an amazing day!