Making a difference for all mankind by changing lives one person at a time!

Destined For Greatness


760-798-0307
destined4greatnessmi@yahoo.com

Taking a Knee!

10/29/2016 20:19

Taking a Knee!

So today in the fall of 2016 we are living in a very openly and vocal time. One of the main people in today’s time is Collin Kaepernick decoded to take a knee in protest against police brutality and injustices in the country. Collin who is African, and was raised by white parents has decided to take this stand. He also has brought light to the national anthem and just how racist it is. So for those of us who are conscious and do our research we already knew just how racist the anthem was. Further- more those who are conscious knew that the whole putting your hand over your heart and taking your hat off while the national anthem plays was thigs done by individuals and not a rule.      

 

            The reason I wanted to talk about this particular subject was to encourage people to stand up for what they truly believe in. so many people are mad a Kaepernick but not even looking at why he is taking a knee. They are mad at his stand but not concerned about why he is taking such a stand. I stand with him because I too hate rogue police. I stand with him because I too hate injustice for anyone. I stand with the BLM movement because I understand injustice for one is injustice for us all. I also stand with BLM because I have seen 40 bills introduced since 2013 that affect how law enforcement treats not just black folks but all people. I stand with anyone who is standing for what is right and not just what has been gotten away with because no one has ever challenged it. I am so over the status quo, and things that have never been challenged before and champion anyone who will.  

            I look at those who have gone before us in rebellion against the status quo and use them as reminders of what can happen when you take a stand. People like; Nat Turner,  MLK, Mohamad Ali, Rosa Parks, Jackie Robinson, Jesse Owens, and many other freedom fighters, the hippies of the 60’s  and even those who were against war. I love that we have had this type of ability to take stands. Although it has been difficult for Africans in this country to do so we have never let it stop us, and many were willing to die doing so. So to anyone reading no matter what your particular stand is on an issue I encourage you to be strong, courageous, and brave enough to let your voice be heard. “If you don’t stand for something you will fall for anything!” This is my mantra and I live by it daily. I pass this advice and saying on to anyone reading who may be thinking about taking a knee or making a stand against something they feel is wrong. Do what you feel is the right thing to do and make sure that every night you lay down for rest that you do so with a clean conscience. You and only you as an individual know whether or not you have done in your heart what is right for you.

Take a stand for what is right, and if need be take that knee to protest what you want to be right!

 

As always have a great day!

 

D