Making a difference for all mankind by changing lives one person at a time!

Destined For Greatness


760-798-0307
destined4greatnessmi@yahoo.com

Reality Check!

10/29/2016 12:29

Reality check!

Greetings everyone who reads,

 

It’s been over a month since my last blog and of course I have something to talk about lol… So I titled this blog reality check and I did so for several reasons. The first reason is because I think that we all every now and again need a reality check or two. Second; because I try my best to keep it real with everyone I encounter. 

Third; because many who read may not have the ability to travel and see what I do, not just here in California or whatever perspective place people live in. Lastly; because I l always want to leave the reader with something to think about, and to challenge ones intellect.  So with all that being said I am ready to articulate more clearly what I mean by reality check.

This year I have had the blessing to travel to several places in the country and it has been a blessing also a reality check at the same time. I was privileged to participate in a family reunion in July that took place in New Orleans this summer. While there I observed many thigs that made me take a deeper look at how we are as a nation of people as a whole. I realize more and more each day that we are living the effects of systemic foundations that were set in place from this country’s conception. I watched as a place that was devastated in 2005 by hurricane Katrina still remain only 40% repaired. Of course downtown New Orleans was almost pristine in its conditions because that is where the money is made. However, as you travel places like the 9th ward and mid-town you see so much undealt with land. There are miles and miles of land that has not been touch for whatever reason. Poverty is still ramped and the mindset seems to be that the state has not taken care of those poor amongst New Orleans. The people of the big easy are a resilient people, but this does not excuse the treatment of the poor amongst us. You get a clearer picture of what happens when people who don’t understand their power and how much they can affect the political process. You also get a better picture of how the mindsets of old has created a machine filled with corruption. I firmly believe that if people knew better they would most certainly do better and many just don’t know. I saw many of diverse situations while visiting downtown but complete separation while in the inner city. Not much has changed when it comes to the racial divide in our country. This was a real check for me.  Don’t get me wrong though, because I am under no illusion that we are a post racial society because too much proves that theory wrong daily. I observed many other mindsets that left a lasting impression on me. This does not mean that things haven’t changed and I don’t want to share this sad story of no hope it just challenges me to do more in my area if influence. So because it is this particular platform I will continue to enlighten people who choose to read.

 

I had the opportunity to go to my home state of Michigan recently and it was also very interesting to do so. I observed more of the same divide there as well. I grew up in a city that was separated for the most part. I remember very clearly going to the mall and seeing almost no white folks after a certain time. I watched as our churches, communities, and many other places like golf courses were exclusive.  A lot of that has changed now but the atmosphere is till filled with historical remnants of the old times in this country. The inner city is stilled filled with despair even more so since industry has left. As I drove around our once very prosperous city filled with factories practically on every corner I observed city blocks of empty land. Drugs are still a major problem as even in Pontiac there are no city services like police, fire, or a runing municipality as corruption has forced the city to be state ran. Once again people who have not known their power over the years has come full circle. So in what so many people call a great country you see cities in Michigan like Pontiac, Detroit, and Flint all being affected by corruption and no one stepping up to help  for the most part. As one who has been able to get out and experience other parts of the country and world for that reason I can see what really is going on. What people don’t want to admit is things like gentrification, redlining and systemic racism and separation have existed for years. When we choose to look back at what made this country “great and an economic power” we can’t over-look how we as a country got here. The three things I just mentioned are a huge reason why we see such a difference in the prosperity of blacks today. If I were to get into the real reasons labor unions were created or how the open boarders affected blacks in this country after the “abolishment” of slavery it would lead me on a bunny trail so I won’t. Just know that black people were never considered human in this country we were considered property. So when you see the ideals of America not fully committed to blacks and the systemic issues that affect us today  then maybe you will understand statements like; ‘Black Lives Matter!” So all of this is being said because as a conscious man I can’t sit back and not address things that I really in my heart wish could be addressed. Even as I am writing this blog I am interrupted by a friend of mines who lives in Colorado being called “a racist pig!” This young man who is black has a sticker on his car that shows how proud he is to be a black man. Some older white person did not like it and decided to spit on his car and wrote racist pig on a paper. This is Colorado 2016 Literally as I am writing this blog this happens. Now some would argue that they are older and grew up in a different era so we should over- look this behavior.  My response to anyone who has said this or would say this is “miss me with that” I WILL NEVER JUSTIFY RACIST BEHAVIOR! People like this need to be called out on their crap! This is why I strongly believe that we are in the situations that we face today. I believe that if we address real issues head on then we can move on. Until we are willing to do this then we will continue to see all of the chaos and destruction we do daily.    ]

 

So here is the reality check people; we are not in a post racial society, racism and systemic racism is alive and well in 2016. Economic injustice in America is alive and well. Drugs and guns being filtered through the inner cities of America is alive and well. Systems in place for genocide to continue has never ceased to exist. Hatred of one’s color, creed, religion, gender identity, and so on still exist. As a matter of fact hate crimes are now punishable by law because these things still exist. Now I am not as a man of faith justifying anyone’s personal choice, nor am I judging their decisions it’s simply not my job to do so. God has that all handled by Himself!  My job is to bring light to the very real situations, and encourage all who can to do what you can to help to better our lives in this country.  I am, and always have been called to tell the truth and this is what I will do until I leave this earth. So with that being said don’t expect me to be politically correct because I simply will not be.  Not telling the truth has never helped anyone or any situation. In the log run it always comes back to be a problem. Telling us as a nation that we are all good when really we are hypocrites is not telling the truth. Looking at our political structure and its corruption and doing nothing is not living in truth. Not calling out our elected officials for not serving the people that elected them is not living in truth. ? This goes on and on. We must be willing to live in the reality of what is current and how it became current. This means some very uncomfortable things will be said. Maybe a moment of truth may come to people as a result, but what won’t happen is us not saying something and live under the illusion that things will change. To go somewhere we have never gone we must do something we have never done. As a country we have not told the truth about how we arrived where we are today, and until we do history will repeat itself.

 

If I were to leave you as the reader with a challenge today it would be to stop what you are doing, and really have a come to yourself moment. Ask yourself if you like the direction our country is headed in? Ask yourself if you are okay with police gunning people of color down and not receiving any punishment whatsoever even when they have been caught on film doing so? Ask yourself if watching a political candidate stir up fear, racial divides, and hatred for people of other religious practices is okay? Ask yourself if you are having the uncomfortable conversations with people who don’t look like you, think like you, or believe like you?  Ask yourself is it okay to judge people, situations, and circumstances that you have no idea about, and  have not done your own research on is okay? These are a few of many questions that could be asked to evaluate what one is doing about the state of our country today. Here is your reality check people don’t ignore it!

 

As always have a great day!

 

D