Making a difference for all mankind by changing lives one person at a time!

Destined For Greatness


760-798-0307
destined4greatnessmi@yahoo.com

Does our color really matter?

07/09/2016 01:37

Does our color really matter?

So once again I am sitting here reflecting on what is going on in our country today and I am at a place where I realize that we really don’t want to deal with the real reality of life today. It is so much going on today that dates back to our country’s past that has not been dealt with like our color for instance. There is absolutely nothing wrong with each and every one of us embracing who we are as individual people who God has chosen for us to be. So I purposely chose to use the word color because I think it is completely stupid to say or refer to someone is black, white, yellow, brown, etc. like we are a crayon in the Crayola box. We are not colors like that. We are fearfully and uniquely made. God specifically made us who we are and we all should embrace who we are.

 

I once heard someone just recently say to me that they don’t see color and I quickly said to them well I do! I will quickly admit that when I look at people I see who they are and that’s ok because I can appreciate everyone for who they are as long as they don’t try to make me fit into some mold that they think I should be from their perspective. Unfortunately this is what has happened in many cases to many of us. I have heard many people say that they have been told one thing or the other from someone’s perspective as to how they should act, live, behave and conduct themselves based on that person’s ideology and this is where people go wrong.

 

I can speak very clearly about my own experience because it is my own personal experience, and I can tell you that many people over the years have tried to put me in a mold, and they were quickly checked, then told that I will not be put into anyone’s box. Unfortunately many people have tried to put me into a European box but God made me an African. An African man who is proud of who he is inside and out. Not always happy with what I have endured as an African American man, but happy overall nevertheless. I have hated the countless times I have been followed by police, harassed by them and even put into a situation where my life could have been taken by police. I have been followed by security because of how I look. I have been overlooked for promotional opportunities because of how I look and even denied jobs for the same reason but still happy and comfortable with the skin I’m in. I have seen and experienced the plight of an African American man in this country. It has been horrible and still is horrible for us as a whole but I’m still happy with my skin.

 

I would say to any other race that you should be happy with who you are and if you aren’t you need to figure out why. Just like blacks have had it hard so have a few other race of people but that does not make you any less of a person because of ignorance and stupidity. Be proud of who you are nevertheless. Embrace being different and proud of your heritage. But remember no one wants you to tell them that they need to be, act, or conduct themselves like you do just because you think they should, that’s called being self-centered.  

 

To anyone out there who has felt the pressure to be something other than who you were created to be don’t be it’s who you were created by God to be, and you should be good with that. I am not saying that life is always going to be a bed of roses or easy but life is still life and if you are still here you have a purpose and God has a blue print just for you. My encouragement for anyone reading who may be struggling with their identity is to never be ashamed, embarrassed, or disappointed in who you were created to be. I think the biggest struggle people have is that they often wonder how life is on the other side sort of speak. When I come into contact with people who really appreciate the black culture to the point that they want to be black I will quickly remind them of the unpleasant aspects like being profiled, unjustly stopped by cops, the biggest target by police and a high risk of leaving home and not coming back.  I always end by telling them in a joking manner that they want to be black without the benefits of being black. What’s really cool in most cases is that this is healthy dialog and I end up telling them why they should embrace who they were created to be.

 

To anyone reading I think the biggest problem we are facing today is the lack of conversation about race and the lack of empathy for those who have been treated unjustly because of who they are perceived to be.  WE all have biases and are prejudice in one way or the other and anyone who says otherwise is simply not telling the truth. This does not mean we hate people for their skin color or any of that but just that we all have pre conceived judgements that we either consciously or sub consciously carry.  The most mature thing we could ever do is admit that and use it as a bridge for understanding and clarity. We can’t continue living the way that we are as a nation divided and refusing to talk about very real issues that date back deep into this country’s past. How do I know this is the issue you may ask, and my simple answer is look at the state of our nation today? No one who truly loves themselves will go out and kill someone because of the way that they look. That is self-hatred! A person with empathy and great self-assurance will always see themselves in others therefore treating them as themselves with respect and dignity.  Any other action is simply unresolved issues deep within the person who is committing such heinous acts. This is what I feel a lot of law enforcement members deal with because if they didn’t they would not be so quick to kill folks instead of seeing them as themselves. Along with not being properly trained to handle certain situations like people with mental illnesses. Finally I feel like it’s something deep within the DNA of certain cops that have unresolved issues within that they kill African American men and women so quickly.  This has to be a discussion we have sooner than later.  

 

So I would say to the reader reading learn to love yourself first, embrace who you are and have been destined by God to be. Second I would say learn to embrace others for who they are and realize that without differences we would all be the same boring beings. Third I would say do your best to alleviate any negative perception you may have about anyone else because perception is reality and if your reality is false then so is your perception.  We all see things in our own ways and that’s ok but don’t try to make someone else fit into your reality. This by no means is taking away anyone’s experiences but it is allowing such experiences to help further mankind into those tough conversations. Conversations that lead to helpful solutions. Ultimately we are looking for the cure and we are a long ways away from that, but it doesn’t hurt to strive towards that cure. Just like any sickness it takes a little time and effort to get better. Like anything time will heal all wounds but not before new ones are open because of the truth.      

 

When it’s all said and done the reason I wrote this is because I really want people to see that a lot of the mess we find ourselves in today dates back. We also have to make a conscious choice to embrace ourselves first then others for who they are. Third the golden rule is never a bad thing to live by but how many of us really do unto others as we do ourselves honestly. We live in a very selfish society and it’s typically all about me in many cases. However, if we were to look in the mirror and see what God sees and build upon our own character, self -esteem, and confidence then we would be a lot further along as a nation. STOP trying to make others fit into your mold. STOP trying to make people do and be what you think they should be. Be comfortable in your own skin, don’t try to be who you aren’t, and live your life as you see fit not how others think you should live.

 

Last but certainly not least don’t pass judgments on other people when you don’t know their plight. Until you have walked a day in their shoes you can never truly understand their life and walk. Last I will say one thig that I know for sure is that I am called to say what most people won’t, and for anyone who knows me then you know that I write all these blogs by inspiration and in love. A love for God, a love for His people, and a love for the truth because the truth will always set us free.

 

As always God bless you and I hope this helps. I may not reach millions but if I can reach one or two then I have done my part.

 

D